Update; Flowers and Food ๐Ÿ’

Hi all! It’s has been just under a month since my last post on here, so, my plants have progressed quite a lot since then! I’m going to use a similar layout to the last time, but with updated photos! If you haven’t read my last post, here’s a link; (https://diydear.wordpress.com/2017/04/04/flowers-and-food-๐Ÿ’/) …now you have no excuses! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Flowers

1.  Cosmos

If you have read one of my previous posts, it was dedicated to this beautiful plant; (https://diydear.wordpress.com/2017/04/02/plants-for-beginners-they-said-not-killable-they-said/). When they were all eaten I had just accepted that I wouldn’t have many in my garden this summer๐Ÿ™. However, I struck gold this weekend. I was clearing out a bed that housed many Cosmos last year and discovered that they had re-seeded themselves! Basically this means that last year when the Cosmo flower heads died, the seeds fell into the soil and have now germinated and grown! I went around my garden with a bucket and pulled up over 120 seedlings๐Ÿ˜“. I have transplanted these into individual containers with two seedlings in each, and am hoping they take to the new soil! I also planted a fresh packet of seeds before finding all the other ones, and these are due to be transplanted soon.


2. Lavatera

I transplanted these plants into different containers so it will be easier to plant them into the garden when they are bigger…how many times can you mentions ‘plant’ in one sentence๐Ÿ˜‚. I planted three small plants in each section so hopefully the root system will bind all the soil together for easy planting into the garden.


3. Lobelia

Before sowing I had heard this variety of plant is very slow at growing, and it is true! Although they are bigger than last time, they haven’t changed size in at least two weeks, but haven’t died either! I’m just hoping for the best with these…


4. Sweet Pea

These are doing SO WELL! They shot up out of the ground and already had all the leaves on the stalk. These are getting stronger and stronger, and I am hoping to transplant them into the small individual containers that the Garden Cosmos used to be in.


5. Marigolds

I think a few of these seedlings were eaten by slugs but I still have quite a few. I transplanted these only yesterday and they seem to have survived the transplant๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป.


6. Lupins

These have been in the ground for quite some time and are just getting stronger. I checked on them earlier this morning and the stalks are thick and strong.


Fruit + Veg.

1. Strawberries

These have been transplanted into a hanging basket and are hanging in a place with a lot of sun. They don’t look much different from last time but I presume the roots are just getting stronger.


2. Spring Onions

These were transplanted yesterday and are doing so well! When I transplanted them the smell of onions was so strong, which I think is repelling the slugs!


3. Cherry Tomatoes

I transplanted these a while ago as well and they survived. They are starting to get their second and third set of leaves at this stage.


4. Broad Beans

These. Are. Big. They have gotten so much bigger, and the roots are starting to come out the bottom of the container, which is really good. For some reason one is doing a lot better then the other, but they are both doing well all the same.


Herbs

1. Thyme

This is a little bit bigger than last time but again haven’t progressed in a while. I definitely need to transplant these soon as the container is too small.


2. Basil

Not much better than last time. I don’t know if the plant is Basil or a weed, so we’ll have to wait and see!


If gardening isn’t really your thing, stay tuned for a baking recipe coming up soon!

Diy Dear xoxo

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Update; Flowers and Food ๐Ÿ’

Leave a Reply

